Campbell & Co, commonly known as "Campbell's of Beauly", was established in the village of Beauly in 1858 by the Campbell family. We specialise in countrywear, knitwear, and have our own bespoke tailoring staff, not only for the making of sporting suits, but also for more formal wear, ladies' wear, and typical Highland dress.
Sporting tweeds form an important part of the large selection of fabric kept in stock. Some of the designs are woven specially, and can only be obtained from Campbell's of Beauly, but the ranges in stock include tweeds of various weights from a number British of mills, all woven in the UK. Our retail shops name "The Highland Tweed House" is a testament to our experience and expertise in this specialist niche area, and the company is often referred to as the "guardians of tweed".
Some Sporting Estates have their own private tweeds for the use of their owners, employees, gillie's and game-keepers. This traditional Scottish custom has been revived by many of the smaller estates which have changed hands over the last 20-25 years, and Campbell's of Beauly are proud to supply many of these. Historically the company held the Royal Warrants for both HRH The Prince of Wales (later The Duke of Windsor) and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother.
In an era where it's becoming more difficult to find traditional British made bespoke tailoring, Campbell's are fortunate to have the skills of Mr. Tom Owen who succeeded his father who retired in 1985. Tom Owen trained as a cutter in Glasgow and worked with his father, who after selling his own business moved to Beauly in 1967. Since then Tom has honed his tailoring skills at the home of sporting tweeds. In addition of the large range of tweeds and countrywear range, Campbell's of Beauly specialise in luxury British made knitwear. Sourcing only the finest qualities from the best knitting mills in Hawick, Campbell's pride ourselves in offering a premium knitwear product of the highest detail and quality.
Campbell's has traditionally been a family concern, and after four generations, the family retired from the business in February 2015. Since March 2015 the business entered a new family generation, having been sold to James Sugden OBE and Charles Brooke and their respective children John and Nicola Sugden. Both families have a long association with the British textile industry. James Sugden ran Johnstons of Elgin for over 20 years, and Charles Brooke's family originates from Armitage Bridge in Huddersfield, the historical town for fine worsted suiting cloth, where John Brooke & Sons was founded in 1541.
No item found!